Main StoriesPolitics

Heart of Asia conference 2021: Asia-Istanbul process

On Tuesday, External Affairs Minister (EAM) S Jaishankar attended the 9th ‘Heart of Asia‘ conference. The 9th Heart of Asia Ministerial Conference is a part of the Istanbul Process.

Meanwhile, Heart of Asia members calls for cooperation to ensure the termination of terrorist shelters.

Even more, after a 3-day visit to Tajikistan, EAM attended the conference on Afghanistan in Dushanbe.

While addressing EAM said, India supports truthful and vast effort for lasting peace in Afghanistan. Also, he said India welcomes genuine political settlement in Afghanistan. At the same time, he said India welcomes any step towards a comprehensive and lasting ceasefire in Afghanistan.

Afghanistan needs genuine ‘dual peace,’ which is peace within and around the country. In addition, India supports the Intra-Afghan Negotiations (IAN).

External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar

Important things to know-

Heart of Asia-Istanbul Process: HOA-IP. To illustrate, it is a regional initiative on security and cooperation for a secure Afghanistan.

HOA-IP is a program of Afghanistan and Turkey. It was founded in November 2011. It officially launched at a conference hosted by Turkey in Istanbul.

As a result, 14 participating countries of the Heart of Asia Region have supported Afghanistan. It comprises 16 supporting countries beyond the region. Further, 12 regional and international organizations are leading and coordinating in the process. Besides, around 50 countries and international organizations as part of this Heart of Asia submit 2021. On the other hand, India is a participating country.

Member Nations of Heart of Asia-

Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, and Uzbekistan.

Supporting Countries are:

–> Australia, Spain, France, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, etc.

Supporting Organizations are:


The purpose of the process

HOA-IP aims to encourage and strengthen peace, security, stability, and prosperity in Afghanistan. Furthermore, to enhance regional cooperation among 15 countries of the Heart of Asia Region.

What is the Heart of Asia Region?

It is known as the geographical area which covers the 15 participating countries of HOA-IP. Moreover, it is one of the largest regions in the world. Above all, it covers about 27% of the land area of the Earth.

Main Focus areas of HOA-IP cooperation:

First, Political Consultations,

Second, Implementation of the Confidence Building Measures (CBMs), and

Third, Cooperation with Regional Organizations.

The Main decision making authorities of HOA-IP are:

  • The Ministerial Conferences (MCs) the highest level,
  • The Senior Officials Meetings (SOMs),
  • Ambassadorial Meetings (AMs), and
  • Regional Technical Groups (RTGs) Meetings.

AuthorPragya Verma

Checkout other articles- Indian Economy- Developed or underdeveloped?

Featured image credits- Trendsmap

Pragya Verma

Hi! I am senior content writer at Akashbaani. I am a writer with a passion for simplicity. Hope you will like my articles.

Related Articles

Back to top button