Main StoriesPolitics

UP Elections 2022: 4th phase voting concluded

Voting for the fourth phase of UP elections was held on Wednesday, with a voter turnout of around 60%. Polling was held in 59 constituencies, including the prominent constituencies of Lucknow, Lakhimpur, Unnao, and Rae Bareli.

Polling began at 7 am at all polling booths and concluded at 6 pm. The voting presence of Pilibhit was the highest at 67% while Lakhimpur Kheri and Unnao recorded 65% and 55% voting presence respectively.

Many high-profile leaders including Rajnath Singh (Defense Minister of India), Mayawati (BSP President), Ajay Mishra (Minister of State Home Affairs), and Dinesh Sharma (Deputy CM) cast their votes in this phase of elections. Brijesh Pathak of BJP, Anurag Bhadouria of SP, Aditi Singh of Congress, and Nitin Agarwal of BJP are a few prominent candidates from a total of 624, who contested in the fourth phase.


The first phase of UP elections recorded a voter turnout of 60.1% across 58 constituencies. The third phase also recorded a voter turnout of over 60%. Meanwhile, the second phase recorded 64.42% voting. 

Three phases are remaining of the seven-phase elections in Uttar Pradesh. In fact, the Election Commission will conduct the fifth phase on February 27.

Also read: Charanjit Singh Channi to be Congress’ CM face in Punjab

Image credits:

Related Articles

Back to top button